Sentinel of the Sea Award


The Sentinel of the Sea Award is the highest honor presented by the Naval War College Foundation to distinguished American citizens representing the traditions and values of the U.S. Naval War College. Recipients of the award exemplify the U.S. Navy motto, Non Sibi Sed Patriae / Not Self but Country. Awardees have demonstrated a sustained commitment to maintaining our Nation’s security, liberty, and strength.

2023 Sponsorship Opportunities

2023 sponsorship opportunities will be available soon.

2022 Sentinel of the Sea Host Committee


Chairman Philip M. Bilden and Dr. Patricia Bilden / Shield Capital

Trustee Emerita Hope H. van Beuren

FLAG OFFICER: $50,000 - $99,999

Trustee Duncan Chapman and Mrs. Barbara Chapman

Trustee Scott DePasquale and Mrs. Elisha DePasquale

Trustee James Metcalf and Mrs. Renee Metcalf

Trustee Douglas Newhouse and Holly Bannister, MD

Chairman Emeritus William A. Obenshain and Mrs. Penelope Obenshain

Trustee Archbold van Beuren and Mrs. Helene van Beuren

COMMODORE: $25,000 - $49,999

Trustee Stephanie Bennett-Smith

Mr. William P. Collatos

Trustee Dominic Dannessa and Mrs. Josette Dannessa

Trustee Paul A. Dimitruk and Mrs. Ingrid Dimitruk

Mr. James and Mrs. Deborah Eagan, Eagan Family Foundation

Vice Chairman Daniel E. Holland, III, Mrs. Deborah B. Holland and Goldman Sachs

CAPT David P. Hunter, USNR (Ret.), Trustee, and Mrs. Paula Hunter

Trustee Ralph Isham and Mrs. Ala Isham

J.F. Lehman & Company

The Honorable Juliette Clagett McLennan, Trustee

Trustee Howard Morgan and Mrs. Ginger Morgan

Trustee Joseph Nicholas and the HFRX Foundation

Trustee Waring Partridge, Mrs. Carmen Patridge and the Waring & Carmen Partridge Foundation

Trustee Daniel P. Quigley and Mrs. Jennifer Quigley

Trustee Barbara Schoenfeld, Dr. Larry Schoenfeld and the Sand Foundation

Secretary Mitchell B. Waldman and Mrs. Debbie Waldman

COMMANDING OFFICER: $10,000 - $24,999

Trustee Duncan H. Cocroft and Mrs. Christina Cocroft

Trustee Emeritus Phil Dunmire and Mrs. Linda Dunmire

Regional Director John R. Peracchio

Pritzker Military Foundation on behalf of the Pritzker Military Museum and Library


DEPARTMENT HEAD: $5,000 - $9,999

Ms. Linda Gordon, in memory of her husband, the Honorable David S. Gordon

CAPT George E. Lang, Jr., USN (Ret.), NWCF CEO, and Dr. Wendy Lang

Mr. and Mrs. James L. Lanzillo

Mr. William C. Martin and Mrs. Geniva Martin

Regional Director Matthew L. Santangelo and Mrs. Bernadette Santangelo

The Honorable Ellen Winsor

CDR Jay A. Yelon, USN, and Mrs. Joanie Yelon

PATRIOT: $1,000 - $4,999

RADM Julius Caesar, USN (Ret.), Trustee

Ms. Anastasie Christiansen-Croy

Regional Director Ryan DeVore and Mrs. Amy DeVore

The Honorable Paula Dobriansky, Trustee

Trustee Emeritus Michael D. Gentile

Ms. Leslie Hitchner

Regional Director Dale A. Jenkins and Mrs. Sandra Panem

Dr. Carla Knorowski, NWCF President & CDO

Mr. Bruno Maglione and Mrs. Sandra Maglione

Regional Director Lisa Whisler


Round up your charges?

Would you like to roundup your total amount as a donation to the Naval War College Foundation?