FRIDAY, NOVEMBER 4, 2022, 6:00 PM – 10:00 PM

Please join us as we bestow the prestigious Sentinel of the Sea Award to the 26th U.S. Secretary of Defense James Mattis

Former U.S. Secretary of Defense James “Jim” Mattis will receive the Sentinel of the Sea Award during a gala dinner at the New York Yacht Club’s 44th Street Clubhouse in New York City. He will also deliver a talk on the challenges facing the U.S. and its treaty allies and close partners in the Indo-Pacific over China’s maritime expansion.

The Honorable Jim Mattis was raised in Southeastern Washington and graduated from Central Washington State College. He served over 40 years in the Marine Corps as an infantry officer, plus duty in the Office of the Secretary of Defense, as NATO Supreme Allied Commander, and as Commander of U.S. Central Command comprised of 250,000 U.S. and allied troops in combat across the Middle East and South Asia. Retiring as a four-star Marine Corps general in 2013, he was a Davies Family Scholar at Stanford University’s Hoover Institution. Subsequently he served as the 26th Secretary of Defense from January 2017 through December 2018.

Sponsorships are still available including those at the $5,000 and $2,500 levels. TICKETS are now on sale at $1,000 per person. To secure a sponsorship or seat at this historic event, please contact Shawna McGeown at or 401.835.0911. Limited number of seats are still available. Thank you! 


Commander in Chief ($100,000)
NWCF Chairman Philip M. Bilden and Dr. Patricia Bilden / Shield Capital
Trustee Emerita Hope van Beuren

Flag Officer ($50,000)
Trustee Duncan Chapman and Mrs. Barbara Chapman
Trustee James Metcalf and Mrs. Renee Metcalf
Trustee Douglas Newhouse and Dr. Holly Bannister
Trustee Emeritus William Obenshain and Mrs. Penelope Obenshain
Trustee Archbold van Beuren and Mrs. Helene van Beuren

Commodore ($25,000)
Trustee Stephanie Bennett-Smith
Mr. William P. Collatos
Trustee Dominic Dannessa and Mrs. Josette Dannessa
Trustee Scott DePasquale and Mrs. Elisha DePasquale
Trustee Paul Dimitruk and Mrs. Ingrid Dimitruk
Mr. James Eagan and Mrs. Deborah Eagan and Eagan Family Foundation
NWCF Vice-Chairman Daniel E. Holland, III, Mrs. Deborah Holland and Goldman Sachs
Trustee David Hunter and Mrs. Paula Hunter
Trustee Ralph Isham and Mrs. Ala Isham
Trustee Carl Liebert and Mrs. Amy Liebert
Trustee Juliette C. McLennan
Trustee Howard Morgan and Mrs. Ginger Morgan
Trustee Joseph Nicholas and The HFRX Foundation
Trustee Daniel Quigley and Mrs. Jennifer Quigley
Trustee Waring Partridge, Mrs. Carmen Partridge and the Waring and Carmen Partridge Foundation
NWCF Secretary Mitchell and Mrs. Debbie Waldman

Commanding Officer ($10,000)
Trustee Duncan H. and Mrs. Christina Cocroft
Regional Director John Peracchio
Pritzker Military Foundation on behalf of the Pritzker Military Museum and Library

Please join us for this timely and important national security dialogue by using the online registration below! 

Click here to view the sponsorship benefits. If you cannot attend and wish to make a donation click here.


Round up your charges?

Would you like to roundup your total amount as a donation to the Naval War College Foundation?