Past Sentinel of the Sea Recipients

The Sentinel of the Sea Award is the highest honor presented by the Naval War College Foundation to distinguished American citizens representing the traditions and values of the U.S. Naval War College. Recipients of the award exemplify the U.S. Navy motto, Non Sibi Sed Patriae / Not Self But Country. Awardees have demonstrated a sustained commitment to maintaining our Nation’s security, liberty, and strength. In words and deeds, as civilians or as esteemed members of our military, awardees have selflessly and courageously protected, supported, and defended the Constitution of the United States of America. They have comported themselves with the U.S. Navy’s timeless values of honor, courage, and commitment. Through their life’s work and personal example, they have advanced the security of our Nation to deter aggression and defend against America’s adversaries in all domains where challenged. As Sentinels, they have dutifully stood the watch, vigilant to our Nation’s security, sounding the alarm when threats have arisen.

The Naval War College Foundation honors these extraordinary American patriots with the Sentinel of the Sea Award in recognition of their meritorious conduct, self-sacrifice, vigilance, and dedicated service to the Nation.

The Honorable John Francis Lehman, Jr.
65th U.S. Secretary of the Navy
General James N. Mattis, USMC (Ret.)
26th U.S. Secretary of Defense
Gary Sinise
Veteran Advocate and Actor
The Honorable Paul R. Ignatius
Secretary of the Navy (1967 – 1969)
Ambassador J. William Middendorf II
Secretary of the Navy (1974 – 1977)
Corporal Hershel Woodrow Williams, USMC
Medal of Honor Recipient, WWII
Corporal Hiroshi H. Miyamura, USA
Medal of Honor Recipient, Korea
First Sergeant Allen James Lynch, USA
Medal of Honor Recipient, Vietnam
presented March 24, 2021
Staff Sergeant David G. Bellavia, USA
Medal of Honor Recipient, Iraq
Lieutenant Michael P. Murphy, USN
Medal of Honor Recipient (Posthumous), Afghanistan
Thomas J. Brokaw
Veteran advocate, American television journalist, author, anchor, and host
Admiral James R. Hogg, USN (Ret.)
Former Military Representative to the NATO Military Committee, President of the National Security Industrial Association, and Director of the Chief of Naval Operations Strategic Studies Group
General Michael V. Hayden, USAF (Ret.)
Former Director of the Central Intelligence Agency, Director of the National Security Agency, and Principal Deputy Director of National Intelligence

Round up your charges?

Would you like to roundup your total amount as a donation to the Naval War College Foundation?